Use your California Bar number to sign up and access all library services after hours and on weekends. Fob access includes all library copies of California State and Federal statutes, CEB, Thomson Reuters, plus online access to WestLaw! Onsite printing and scanning resources plus free wifi!
Law Library After Hours Access Policy
Members of the San Luis Obispo County Bar and San Luis Obispo County Judges may obtain an after-hours fob key that will allow entrance to the Law Library after regular business hours. San Luis Obispo County Paralegals/Law Students must provide a signature of a Judge of Attorney who will accept responsibility for the use of the key fob. Members of the bar shall be defined as members of the California State Bar who reside or practice (meaning having a place of business) in San Luis Obispo County.
An after-hours key fob may not be loaned to anyone, nor used by anyone other than the individual or law firm to whom it is assigned. Unauthorized individuals are not to access the law library through admittance by someone with an authorized key fob, either accompanied or unaccompanied. Attorneys, Judges, and Paralegals who wish to use the County Law Library for educational purposes within the context of teaching a class shall make an individual application to the Law Librarian for each class use. While in the Law Library, teachers of such classes will always remain with their students.
Violations of any of these conditions shall be cause for immediate termination of after-hours privileges pending a final decision by the policy hearing officer with right of appeal to the Law Library Board of Trustees. In no instance shall the loss of privileges be less than six (6) months. A written request for a hearing before the hearing officer must be received within ten (10) days of cancellation of after-hours privileges.
After-Hours Access Fee Schedule:
$250 per annum
$100 per annum
$100 per annum
Prior to the expiration of the individual's fob key, a reminder for annual payment will be sent. If the renewal fee is not received by the expiration date, the account will be deactivated. It may be reinstated by paying a $25 fee. Funds collected are used to implement this program.
Out of County Attorneys and Judges
Each out of State Attorney or Judge shall pay a refundable deposit of $150 and $50 a month, payable in advance. The replacement charge for a lost or damaged fob key is $25.
Approved by the Board of Trustees 9/17/89; amended 3/14/89; amended 3/93; amended 12/98; amended 6/2000; amended 7/2002; amended 1/2004; amended 4/2006; amended 7/2014; amended 11/22.